1. Who was the first President of Indian National Congress?
  A.  Surendra Nath Banerjee
  B.  Dr. Rajendra Prasad
  C.  Rabindra Nath Tagore
  D.  W.C. Banerjee
View Answer

Womesh Chandra Bonnerjee (W.C. Banerjee) was born on 29 December 1844. He was one of the founder-members of the Indian National Congress in December 1885. Proposed by Allan Octavian Hume, he was unanimously elected the first President.He died at his home, Kidderpore, on 21 July 1906.

2. Who was the first Governor General of India (after independence)?
  A.  Warren Hastings
  B.  Lord William Bentinck
  C.  Lord Louis Mountbatten
  D.  Lord Canning
View Answer

Lord Louis Mountbatten (15 Aug, 1947-20 June, 1948)

3. Who was the first Indian Governor General of Independent India?
  A.  Dr. S Radhakrishnan
  B.  C Rajgopalachari
  C.  G Shankar Kurup
  D.  Sachchida Nand Sinha
View Answer

4. Who was the first Commander-in-Chief of India (after Independence)?
  A.  General K M. Cariappa
  B.  General S.F.J. Manekshaw
  C.  General Maharaja Sri Rajendra Singh Ji Jadeja
  D.  Subhas Chandra Bose
View Answer

5. Who was the first temporary President of the Constitutent Assembly?
  A.  Dr. Rajendra Prasad
  B.  Dr. Zakir Hussain
  C.  Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
  D.  Dr. Sachchida Nand Sinha
View Answer

6. Who was the President of Constituent Assembly?
  A.  Pd. Jawaharlal Nehru
  B.  Dr. Rajendra Prasad
  C.  Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel
  D.  Dr. Nagendra Singh
View Answer

7. Who was the first Field Marshal of India?
  A.  General KS Rajendra Sinhji
  B.  General P.N. Thapar
  C.  General S.F.J. Manekshaw
  D.  Kodandera M. Cariappa
View Answer

Sam Manekshaw was born on 3 April 1914 in Amritsar, Punjab, to Hormizd Manekshaw (1871–1964), who was a doctor, and Hilla, née Mehta (1885–1973). He was the Chief of the Army Staff of the Indian Army during the Indo-Pakistani War of 1971, and the first Indian Army officer to be promoted to the rank of field marshal. His active military career spanned four decades and five wars, beginning with service in the British Indian Army in World War II.

8. Who was the first Speaker of Lok Sabha?
  A.  G.K. Mavlankar
  B.  M. A. Ayyangar
  C.  Neelam Sanjiva Reddy
  D.  Hukam Singh
View Answer

Ganesh Vasudev Mavalankar (27 November 1888 – 27 February 1956) popularly known as Dadasaheb was the President (from 1946 to 1947) of the Central Legislative Assembly, then Speaker of the Constituent Assembly of India, and later the first Speaker of the Lok Sabha, the lower house of the Parliament of India.

9. _____________ was the first Prime Minister and _________________ was the first President of Independent India?
  A.  Gulzarilal Nanda; Dr. Rajendra Prasad
  B.  P. Jawahar Lal Nehru; Dr. Rajendra Prasad
  C.  P. Jawahar Lal Nehru; Zakir Husain
  D.  Lal Bahadur Shastri; Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan
View Answer

10. The first Home Minister of Independent India was ___________________ and first Education Minister of Independent India was ___________________.
  A.  Jawaharlal Nehru; Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
  B.  C. Rajagopalachari; Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
  C.  Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel; Maulana Abul Kalam Azad
  D.  Maulana Abul Kalam Azad; Sardar Vallabh Bhai Patel
View Answer

Vallabhbhai Jhaverbhai Patel (31 October 1875 – 15 December 1950), commonly known as Sardar, was an Indian lawyer, influential political leader, barrister and statesman who served as the first Deputy Prime Minister also first Home Minister of India from 1947 to 1950.

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (11 November 1888 – 22 February 1958) was an Indian independence activist, Islamic theologian, writer and a senior leader of the Indian National Congress. Following India's independence, he became the First Minister of Education in the Indian government from 15 August 1947 to 22 January 1958.

Copyright © 2020-2022. All rights reserved. Designed, Developed and content provided by Anjula Graphics & Web Desigining .